Community Waitakere - Auckland, New Zealand

All of the Community Waitakere Team are generally working remotely during the COVID-19 Alert Level 2, please feel free to contact us via mobile or email at:

  • Mark Allen, 021 378 791, mark@communitywaitakere.org.nz
  • Mandy Spencer, 022 504 3003, mandy@communitywaitakere.org.nz
  • Chris Burton, 022 504 3002, chris@communitywaitakere.org.nz
  • Bronwyn Smith, 022 639 2959, bronwyn@communitywaitakere.org.nz
  • Sophie Barclay, 022 504 3006, sophie@communitywaitakere.org.nz,  Monday to Thursday
  • Simon Grant, 021 308 132, simon@communitywaitakere.org.nz, Monday to Thursday
  • Peter Hosking, 021 660 275, peter@communitywaitakere.org.nz
  • Shalema Wanden-Hannay, 020 481 2788, shalema@communitywaitakere.org.nz
  • Aroha Te Namu, 022 504 3005, aroha@communitywaitakere.org.nz
  • Leao Tildsley, 022 639 1531, leao@communitywaitakere.org.nz

 

COVID-19: What you need to know

If you think you might have symptoms ring;

Healthline (0800 358 5453)  or your doctor. 

For general inquiries, call the toll free government helpline on 0800 779 997 -

(8am to 1am, 7 days a week)

Or check out the official information site: www.covid19.govt.nz

 

WE ARE AT ALERT LEVEL 2

The Government has announced New Zealand is now at Alert Level 2 as of 11.59pm on Wednesday 13 May.  Cabinet will review Alert Level 2 restrictions on Monday 25 May.
Click on the following links to find out more about  Alert Level 2
 We are at Level 2 |  Play it safe  Life at Alert Level 2  | Controls at Alert Level 2  |  Personal movement  Gatherings, events, and public venues  |  Exercise, sport and recreation Workplaces and businesses Travel and transport  |  Education  |  At risk people  |  Self-isolation, quarantine and testing  |  Detailed table of NZ COVID-19 Alert Levels

 

  WEST AUCKLAND TOGETHER HUB

During this time of uncertaintly, we are sure of one thing.  We remain committed to keeping West Aucklanders healthy, connected and active

The West Auckland Together Hub provides online information designed specifically for families in West Auckland. The focus is on ideas, resources and tips for family well-being, which are all simple and relevant to whanau.
Resources include everything from videos on Maori games, tips for cooking, local walking routes, fun play initiatives and ways to stay connected.   

The West Auckland Together Hub has been developed by the Collaborative Marketplace partners:

With support from:  Auckland Council, Henderson Massey Local Board, Waitakere Ranges Local Board and Whau Local Board
 

 

 

 

 

 

Meeting Room Space

Waitakere Community Resource Centre provides cost effective and friendly event and meeting space options in central Henderson. 

Large room available perfect for meetings, workshops, forums, launches, training sessions, staff meetings, away-days, both public and private events.

We also office a small sound proof room, suitable for counseliing, supervision or one-on-one sessions.

The Cenre is fully accessible.  Includes a lounge area and kitchen facilities.

You are more than welcome to come and have a look around.

For further details please contact Mandy on 09 838 7903 or email mandy@communitywaitakere.org.nz.

 

cwengage

 

WEST AUCKLAND WELLBEING:  Back to Normal vs Forward to Normal
Author:  Rob Warriner - Chief Executive, WALSH TRUST

 

While the COVID-19 pandemic and the consequent lockdown have caused understandable anxiety, what has been a huge mitigating factor in people’s ability to manage and “get by” has been the real sense of our “all being in this together”. For me it strongly reinforces the profound impact of social isolation; of being identified and taking on that identity of “being different” in our struggles with life.

 
Click here to read the full article